top of page

Get to Know Us



Whit Whitaker, a community activist for social justice and the arts, is a DIAMOND Life Member of the NAACP, a Life Member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc., a Life Member of the Military Officers Association of America, and a Life Member of the National Association for Black Veterans. A member of the Community Pillars Gun Violence Taskforce, he serves as Chair of the Episcopal Diocese of Lexington Commission for Racial Reconciliation and as a commissioner on the Mayor's Racial Justice and Equity Commission, including service on three sub-committees on Racial Equity, Housing and Gentrification, and Police Law Enforcement and Accountability. He is also a performing artist and serves on several community organizational boards, including LexArts, Lexington Children's Theatre, and as Vice President for the Kentucky Playwrights Workshop.

1st Vice-President

Priscilla F. Johnson of Lexington, KY, Former chair of the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights for eight years. Under her leadership, the board ruled on hundreds of discrimination complaints and established civil rights education programs like the Kentucky Civil Rights Hall of Fame. She was chair of the Lexington Human Rights Commission in 1991 and was later named chair of the Kentucky Human Rights Commission in 1999. She organized many programs to help youth graduate high school and attend college. For more than 10 years, she used her position as director of Minority Affairs at the Administrative Office of the Courts to hold an annual Lawyer’s Lunch with the Northern Kentucky NAACP to encourage minority youth to become lawyers and judges. She worked with Kentucky judges to ensure minorities were treated equally and fairly in the justice system. She has worked on many voter registration drives and worked to empower women. She’s a drum major for Justice. 


Vanessa Sanford joined the local chapter of the NAACP 17 years ago when she and her husband were trying to resolve a racial discrimination issue. She was an employee of the Lexington Fayette Urban County Government and sought help from the NAACP. She was later appointed by the Mayor’s Office to represent the city at NAACP meetings. Vanessa continues to be active in the chapter because people are still being judged by the color of their skin and not the content of their character. The NAACP began with whites and blacks working together to address racial discrimination, and Vanessa continues to passionately pursue that mission.

Asst. Secretary

Vacant Role.


JoJuana Leavell-Greene is also the Community Outreach Liaison and Treasurer for the Lexington-Fayette County NAACP. She is the proud Owner/Operator of GreeneLandingKY and Nanny’s Land, growing sites of fresh produces in food desert areas. JoJuana is a Kentucky State University Alumna and is a Life Member of the NAACP and Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.). Currently, JoJuana is the President of Kentucky Society of Certified Public Managers (KSCPM); Vice Chair at Community Ventures (CVC) of Kentucky, and member of Total Grace Baptist Church.

Asst. Treasurer

Missy Hagans is a retired educator of the Fayette County Public Schools. She first joined the NAACP when she was a student at Western Kentucky University in the early 80s. Since retiring she has focused on the needs of her community and is passionate about children receiving opportunities for excelling in education and life. She is an active member of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Incorporated, The Links Incorporated, and the Kentucky Retired Teachers Association.

Immediate Past President

Jim Thurman  is a twice past president of the Lexington-Fayette branch and leads a diverse group all working toward social justice. He is a lifetime member and first joined the NAACP's youth chapter back in the 70's. While a student at Kentucky State University, he joined the adult chapter. Thurman says it's important to be a part of the NAACP because it is a vital part of bringing equality in America and is as relevant today as at its inception.

bottom of page